Google sheet integration _random output based on slot value

Hi guys,

It seems I stuck with my first VF project. It is a very simple Google sheet integration. User asks for a recipe with tomato, Google sheet lookup column Ingredient and find the first recipe with tomato, and then shares all related information.
The problem is when a user wants another recipe. Here ideally I would like to return another recipe with tomato - a random one. I see that in google block I can indicate a new column, but this won’t work in case of base it is big.
Can anybody advise how I can do random suggestion based on slot value? Not just any random suggestion but based on user input?
I am not a developer, but a curious designer) Thank you!

I also looked if I can do something in the Google sheet itself. I used formula =SORTN(FILTER(B$1:B,A$1:A=A2),1,0,randarray(COUNTA(FILTER(B$1:B,A$1:A=A2)),1),TRUE) to generate a random output based on condition. But here there are two questions:
1 Not sure that API will be getting a random read each time
2 I have several colums which are based on the selected variable. So user says - tomato , I return a random recipe. User says, OK - I need to read out other columns. How I can attach other columns to this random output?

Google Sheet block…

• can return only one row.
  • can define only one condition and always return same, or retrieve randomly without condition.

that means If you wanna retrieve data by a key and also by random, you should do this in other ways such as:

• use google sheet functions like you did.
  • use custom API to get whole data and handle its data by writing some codes with code block.

If you are not familiar with coding, I recommend using Google Sheet functions although I’m not so familiar with those and it might be a little complicated.

1 Like

Yes, it is a bit of a pickle. I can share what Andrew from VF suggested, but I don’t understand his suggestion.